The Bauhaus Dessau Foundation is a non-profit foundation under public law. It is funded by the State of Saxony-Anhalt, the German Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, and the city of Dessau-Roßlau. The regulatory authority of the Foundation is the state chancellery of the State of Saxony-Anhalt. The Bauhaus Dessau Foundation consists of the following organs: the Board, the Foundation Council, and the Scientific Advisory Board.

Foundation Council

The Foundation Council makes decisions and passes resolutions on fundamental matters concerning the Bauhaus Dessau Foundation, including the budget, the discharge of the Board of Directors and the appointment of directors. The members of the Foundation Council perform their duties on an honorary basis. The members of the Foundation Council are:

3 representatives of the State of Saxony-Anhalt

  • Rainer Robra
    Chief of the State Chancellery and Minister for Culture of the State of Saxony-Anhalt
    Chair of the Foundation Council
  • Dr. Lydia Hüskens
    Minister for Infrastructure and Digital Affairs of the State of Saxony-Anhalt
  • Holger Hövelmann
    Member of the Saxony-Anhalt State Parliament

2 representatives of the Federal Government

  • Ingo Mix
    Group leader K 2 of the Federal Government Commission for Culture and the Media
    Vice Chair of the Foundation Council
  • Dietmar Horn
    Ministerial director, Federal Ministry of Housing, Urban Development, and Construction; Head of Department for Urban Development and Regional Planning

2 representatives of the city of Dessau-Roßlau

  • Dr. Robert Reck
    Lord Mayor of the City of Dessau-Roßlau
  • Jacqueline Lohde
    Town mayor and councillor for building and urban green spaces

Foundation Law and Statutes

Foundation Act – Bauhaus Dessau Foundation
Statutes – Bauhaus Dessau Foundation

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board advises the Bauhaus Dessau Foundation in matters relating to content. It is composed of:

  • Prof. Burcu Dogramaci, PhD
    Professor of art history, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU Munich)
    Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board
  • Prof. Thea Brejzek, PhD
    Professor of spatial theory, UTS, Sydney
  • Dr Iris Edenheiser
    Director of the Deutsches Hygiene-Museum (German Hygiene Museum), Dresden
  • Ute Eskildsen
    Deputy director and head of the photographic collection (retired), Museum Folkwang, Essen
  • Prof. Dieter Hofmann
    Professor of industrial design, product and system design, and Rector of the Burg Giebichenstein University of Art and Design, Halle
  • Prof. Axel Kufus
    Professor of product design, University of the Arts, Berlin
  • Jürgen Mayer H.
    Architect, Berlin
  • Petra Roggel
    Goethe-Institut, Munich
  • Prof. Philipp Ursprung, PhD
    Professor of art and architectural history, ETH Zurich
  • Franciska Zólyom
    Director of the Museum of Contemporary Art (GfZK), Leipzig

UNESCO World Heritage

The UNESCO organisation seeks to encourage the identification, protection, and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world considered to be of outstanding value to humanity. This includes testimonies to past cultures and artistic masterpieces, the loss of which would be irreplaceable. World Heritage Sites are places of tradition that are essentially intact. Their protection is not only the responsibility of individual states, but of the entire international community.

World Cultural Heritage Site in Dessau

Since 1996, the Bauhaus in Weimar and Dessau has been one of the over 1,150 natural and cultural sites listed by UNESCO in over 167 countries around the world. This recognition is due to the outstanding architecture of the Bauhaus Building and the other buildings, which have influenced the image of modernity up to the present day. In addition, the Bauhaus itself is recognised as an institution. It developed new ways of thinking, with the aim of designing a holistic modernity in which social and societal contexts played just as important a role as the living spaces. Thus the Bauhaus was not only a pioneer in the fields of architecture and art, it also made an outstanding contribution to the history of ideas of the 20th century.

The following buildings in Dessau and Weimar have been part of the World’s Cultural Heritage since 1996:

Bauhaus Building in Dessau
Masters’ Houses in Dessau
Former School of Fine Art and School of Arts and Crafts in Weimar
Haus Am Horn in Weimar

In 2017, additions were made to the Bauhaus World Heritage Site:

In July 2017, at its 41st session in Krakow, Poland, the UNESCO World Heritage Committee decided to extend the Bauhaus World Heritage Site to include architecture created under the second Bauhaus director Hannes Meyer. The new additions were the Houses with Balcony Access, built in 1930 in Dessau, and the ADGB Trade Union School, which opened in Bernau near Berlin in 1930. Thus since then, the Bauhaus World Heritage Site has consisted of buildings in Thuringia, Saxony-Anhalt, and Brandenburg.

Laubenganghäuser (Houses with Balcony Access) in Dessau
Former ADGB Trade Union School in Bernau

Institutional supporters